What’s really amazing about LACM, is that you are truly working with the best. Your teachers aren’t just teachers in the real world, they are still leading members of the music industry that truly have worked with the best. They have been on stage touring with your favourite artists or have managed your favourite bands. The stories are all true and they continue to inspire. Just a few examples of faculty members that have winning in our eyes.

LACM congratulates faculty members Tierney Sutton (Vocal Department Chair), Willie Murillo (Brass & Woodwinds Department Chair) and Lisa Harriton (Songwriting Department Faculty) on their 2015 GRAMMY Nominations! 2015 brings Tierney her sixth nomination in the category of Best Jazz Vocal Album for her recent release Paris Sessions.

Willie Murillo is nominated for four separate awards with Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band: Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album: “Life in the Bubble,” Best Instrumental Composition: “Life in the Bubble,” Best Instrumental Arrangement: “Get Smart”,and Best Arrangement Instruments and Vocals: “Party Rockers” Featuring Judith Hill.

Lisa Harriton is nominated alongside her husband Joshua Bartholomew in the category of Best Song Written for Visual Media as songwriters for “Everything is Awesome!!!” performed by Tegan And Sara Featuring The Lonely Island for The Lego Movie.